| Author |
Message |
puggleowner Member

Joined: 23 Mar 2004 Posts: 384 Location: Grand Rapids, MI
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 2:26 pm Post subject: Dog Island |
|
|
A co-worker heard about this place and sent me a link to the sight- what are everyone's thoughts? I found I had mixed feelings....
http://www.thedogisland.com/index.html |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jamiya Moderator

Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 5593
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 2:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's not real, of course...
Jamiya |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
puggleowner Member

Joined: 23 Mar 2004 Posts: 384 Location: Grand Rapids, MI
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 2:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| It's not? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jamiya Moderator

Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 5593
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 2:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nope. It's a spoof. Someone with way too much time on their hands.
Jamiya |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
puggleowner Member

Joined: 23 Mar 2004 Posts: 384 Location: Grand Rapids, MI
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Oh you're right...I hadn't read any of the links or anything but now that I have I can see that it's probably not- like the "mandatory dog exportation" bill in New Jersey? Ha. I guess I am just gullible. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
puggleowner Member

Joined: 23 Mar 2004 Posts: 384 Location: Grand Rapids, MI
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 2:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| So I wonder what happens if someone actually sends them an e-mail because they want to send their dogs!! Do they just respond with a "gotcha!" e-mail or something? Weird |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jamiya Moderator

Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 5593
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 2:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Probably. They probably have a good laugh at your expense.
I'm pretty gullible, too, but I have seen that one before.
Jamiya |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
catrastrophe Member

Joined: 07 Apr 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 3:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Its a cute site....and they actually make money off putting the ads up there. But when you try to contact them(which I did several times on a rainy day), you never get an answer. I think the rabbit hair undies for the winter thing is hilarious! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
lanena322 Member

Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 130 Location: Cidra, Puerto Rico
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 6:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
seems like there are lots of sites like this now a days. like jamya said its just someone with too much time on their hands. just like this site http://www.bonsaikitten.com
I actually fell for this one. Made me cry and everything lol. Then I started to think hmm, how can they put a kitten in a bottle, glue up its butt and not have it die? or have it result in bone organ deformities? then i realized, ha no finished products! lol |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
bullylove1 Super Senior Member

Joined: 18 Mar 2004 Posts: 1075
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
lanena,
the bonsaikitten one is creepy! I just came across it by mistake a couple of weeks ago. I had no idea what to think. There are really weird people out there. I think the thing that really made me go, Yeah Right! is when it said only people who get certified by the state of California can sell them or something along those lines. Geez! What some people won't do for kicks. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
jwoodman New member

Joined: 26 Mar 2004 Posts: 9 Location: western nc
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I took it seriously enough to suppose that the (semiliterate) author was trying to get animals to sell to lab suppliers. But then, how would such poor beasts be "sent," after all?
JW |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
4Dogsihave Super Senior Member

Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 1026 Location: Virginia
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 10:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| That site is cute!! I love the part about rates, only the really rich rich people can afford for their dog to have a vacation. LOL |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
catrastrophe Member

Joined: 07 Apr 2004 Posts: 76
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 10:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| That kitten thing is disturbing. Why put up something like that and give cruel people more ideas??? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
lanena322 Member

Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 130 Location: Cidra, Puerto Rico
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 10:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Quote: |
Why put up something like that and give cruel people more ideas???
|
I agree, I wonder how many people have a) not realized it was a joke and decided 'ooh, lets save some money by making our own bonsai kitten or b) hmm, this looks interesting 'here fluffy lets stick u in a jar' |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jas Moderator

Joined: 16 Mar 2004 Posts: 774 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2004 11:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Puggle I think peta strikes again. Someone sent me a link like this involving that group, although I haven't looked at the link you left to see if its the same. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Jules Member

Joined: 22 Mar 2004 Posts: 156 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 2:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
| I received an email a while ago with pics of the bonsai kittens and a petition against it. The email said stuff like: this is really cruel and must stop blah blah blah. I guess the gullible people signed the petition! I believed it for a bit- then I realised it was just a sick joke. And I do agree stuff like this would put ideas into crazy people's heads. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|