Auspet.com, resources for pet owners. Dogs, cats, fish & aquarium, horse, and birds questions & answars. Pet directory, message boards, vet advice & articles - Resources for Pet Owners World-Wide
   

Home | Classifieds | Articles | Pet Directory | LinkXchange | Advertise here
PawPapers Newsletter | Make Default Homepage | Bookmark

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

UPDATE



 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Auspet.com Forum Index -> Dogs - small breeds (toy) specific
Author Message
ntengwall
Member
Member


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 49
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 3:22 pm    Post subject: UPDATE Reply with quote

Well, after some research and help from my new friends at some shih tzu message boards and the American Shih Tzu Club, I found out that this woman is supposedly a puppy mill!
The woman's partner just called me and said that she was told I had some questions about the dogs. I told her that I thought she was located in Washington DC and that NC was just too far from me. She said she would "see what she could do" about refunding my money. That was when it got ugly!! I told her that I fully expected to get my money back since she misrepresented herself as living in Washington. She said that this was MY misunderstanding! No where on her site does she say where she lives and she is listed under Washington DC on breeders.net. I told her I didn't want to have to get my uncle involved who is a very prominent attorney here in Annappolis, but that I would. She then got very defensive and said that it states that the deposit is non-refundable on their site. I told her that I saw that but that she has mis-repesented herself by implying that she breeds and raises the dogs in DC. Would some of you please go to their site to be witnesses that it does not say where they live on the site? I know she is going to put it up there any minute!
Her site is http://www.shihtzu-by-burnwood.com/
Back to top
HebertRT
New member
New member


Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 15
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just visited their site and spent quite a few minutes looking around. I could not find their location anywhere on the site -- only an 800-number and email address. Good luck to you. If they are as ethical as they state on their site, they would not have any problem giving you a refund. This will be the true test -- hope it goes well for you!
Back to top
gwen13
Member
Member


Joined: 16 Aug 2004
Posts: 160
Location: Los Angeles, California

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

These people are even making me mad. They're passing off their website like they're just a family raising puppies out of love, but they have 27 puppies in their nursery for sale or sold just in the past month. Nowhere on there does it say where they are located. I took a screenshot of the only area on their entire site that even gives contact information, nowhere stating where they are located.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v103/coeurfaux/shihtzu.gif
There's the link if you want to save it as some sort of proof, you should also do the same with the listing that said they were in DC.
Back to top
ntengwall
Member
Member


Joined: 15 Sep 2004
Posts: 49
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 4:24 pm    Post subject: Thanks Gwen! Reply with quote

I did copy their breeders.net listing under DC and I also printed out their main home page of their website and also their contract page (surely it should say on one or both of those where they are from).
I never thought to look to see the dates of the past puppies! Duh. I just assumed they were from this past year. s**k that I was stupid but lesson learned!
Back to top
gwen13
Member
Member


Joined: 16 Aug 2004
Posts: 160
Location: Los Angeles, California

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here you go in case you didn't get it, I found it too. I hope they get caught for what they really are!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v103/coeurfaux/shihtzu2.gif
Back to top
4Dogsihave
Super Senior Member
Super Senior Member


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 1026
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.breeders.net/find.php

I found this link as well when searching under my zip code since I live in Va. Here its listed as Raleigh North Carloina. So I guess she is listing in several different states to try and attract more people. But no where on her site does she state where she is. And you would have no way of seeing this entry where she actually lists herself in NC if you werent searching under a zip code in the area. I wonder what other areas she lists herself!
Back to top
MyBabyShihPoo
Super Senior Member
Super Senior Member


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 1230
Location: Mentally or Physically?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A puppy mill indeed...people who do this just disgust me...if only they could put the intelligence they have to scam people and misrepresent themselves to good use!!! Mad

I'm glad that you found this information out before purchasing a puppy form them...kudos to you for doing your research!!! Your the best

Best wishes in your continued search, and I hope things turn out okay with the return of your deposit!!! Very Happy
Back to top
maltepoolover
Member
Member


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Breeders .net has you to fill out a form ,so they could not have gotten her info wrong ,they can't put on except what she puts in .So ,she was definately lying .
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Auspet.com Forum Index -> Dogs - small breeds (toy) specific All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1